You can run interference or do an end run – it’s your call or the manager’s. Blackpool FC certainly would not be able to push it over the goal line without the managers that takes care of the administrative and strategic side of the game. The manager of the professional football club could also take on the head coach role. While taking care of the tactical aspects, the managers also do the selection of players. Below are some of the roles of Blackpool FC managers:

  • Personnel and HR Administration. The manager gets to choose current players, works on the system, and decides on what strategy to employ for the game. This involves deciding on team of players for a certain match, handling contracts and transfers, planning on the strategy and formation, as well as providing instruction while on the field. The managers also get to scout for potential young players who can go on training in the reserves or youth academy.
  • The manager takes on the coaching role and trains the players on particular aspects of the game. This could involve strength or physical training, set-piece training, and practice match; among others; which is done typically in between matches at pre-set schedules. The coaching role involves mainly motivating players before, during, and after the match.
  • One of the roles of the manager is to face the media during pre-match and post-match press conferences or interviews.
  • The manager is in-charge of marketing the Blackpool FC club; specifically in line with sponsorship, ticket management, and merchandising; which makes sure that the club remains profitable over the years.

The Blackpool FC manager does the tasks hand in hand with the club director or delegates it to the assistant manager, club coach, as well as first team coach.

Blackpool FC Managers

  1. Tom Barcroft (from 1903 to 1909)
  2. Jack Cox (from 1909 to 1911)
  3. Bill Norman (from 1919 to 1923)
  4. Major Frank Buckley (from 1923 to 1927)
  5. Sydney Beaumont (from 1927 to 1928)
  6. Harry Evans (from 1928 to 1933)
  7. Sandy MacFarlane (from 1933 to 1935)
  8. Joe Smith (from 1935 to 1958)
  9. Ron Stuart (from 1958 to 1967)
  10. Stan Mortensen (from 1967 to 1969)
  11. Les Shannon (from 1969 to 1970)
  12. Jimmy Meadows (from March 7, 1978 to May 20, 1978)
  13. Bob Stokoe (from May 20 1978 to August 17, 1979)
  14. Stan Ternent (from 1979 to 1980)
  15. Alan Ball (from 1980 to 1981)
  16. Allan Brown (from 1981 to 1982)
  17. Sam Ellis (from 1982 to 1989)
  18. Jimmy Mullen (from 1989 to 1990)
  19. Graham Carr (from June 11, 1990 to November 30, 1990)
  20. Billy Ayre (from November 30, 1990 to June 10, 1994)
  21. Sam Allardyce (from 1994 to 1996)
  22. Gary Megson (from 1996 to 1997)
  23. Nigel Worthington (from 1997 to 1999)
  24. Steve McMahon (from 2000 to 2004)
  25. Colin Hendry (from 2004 to 2005)
  26. Simon Grayson (from November 11, 2005 to date)